E.B Lemon Distinguished Alumni Award

E.B Lemon Distinguished Alumni Award

The OSU Alumni Association has established the E.B. Lemon Distinguished Alumni Award to recognize and honor former OSU students who have made significant contributions to society and whose accomplishments and careers have brought credit to OSU. The award does more than honor these former students. It spotlights the accomplishments of OSU and thereby increases the pride in our Alma Mater by all associated with the University. The award also presents to the people of Oregon and the nation tangible evidence of the effectiveness of the progress of our University

Eligibility Considerations:

  1. Performed specific, meritorious service which reflects the quality and advancement of Oregon State University
  2. Achieved distinction in his/her business or professional life
  3. Demonstrated distinguished human service in community affairs at the local, state, national or international level
  4. Had been enrolled in OSU as a student (graduate/undergraduate), at least 20 years prior to nomination, as a student in good standing, for a minimum of one academic year
  5. Be an individual who, in deeds and action, reflects and recognized the importance of his or her education at OSU, who demonstrates pride in the Alma Mater, and whose interest in and loyalty to OSU are evidence
  6. Be a person of such integrity, stature and demonstrated ability, that the faculty, staff, students and alumni will take pride in and be inspired by his or her recognition

Those Ineligible For Nominations:

  1. A candidate or an elected official for any public office. 
  2. Anyone currently serving as a member of the OSU Board of Trustees, OSU Alumni Board of Directors or OSU Foundation Board of Trustees; and/or an OSU Alumni Association, OSU Foundation, INTO OSU or Oregon State University employee.


  1. Nominations for the award are encouraged from any source
  2. All nominations shall be kept confidential
  3. Forms for making nominations shall be furnished by the Alumni Office and is included at the link below
  4. Nominations may be made at any time. If a nominee is not selected the first year they are nominated and their file will remain active for two years following their nomination

Deadline: Feb. 23, 2024 | Nomination form

Congratulations to the 2021 E.B. Lemon Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient - Rick Spinrad, M.S. ’78, Ph.D. ’82

From his days doing his own research  as a graduate student at Oregon State to his present position running one of the nation’s most crucial scientific agencies, oceanographer Richard W. “Rick” Spinrad has dedicated his life to the pursuit of ocean and climate health.  Nominated by President  Joe Biden and swiftly confirmed by the U.S. Senate in June, he is administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. This caps 35 years of contributions to public interest  research  in academia and in various  governmental roles. He is widely credited  with helping to solidify OSU’s position as a powerhouse of publicly funded research. 

View Rick Spinrad's memory book - signed by friends and family to recognize his achievements.

Past Award Recipients

    1981 - Thurman J. "TJ" Starker / Loran L. "Stub" Stewart
    1982 - Claude F. Palmer
    1983 - N.B. "Nat" Giustina
    1984 - Milton Harris
    1985 - Robert C. Ingalls
    1986 - Linus C. Pauling
    1987 - Douglas C. Engelbart
    1988 - Richard A. Koch
    1989 - James C. Howland
    1990 - Marion E. Carl
    1991 - Robert D. Cess
    1992 - Philip Lane, Sr.
    1993 - Faye H. Stewart
    1994 - Henry L. Bauer
    1995 - Kazuyoshi Kawata
    1996 - Warren Washington
    1997 - Robert W. Lundeen
    1998 - Ronald T. Miller
    1999 - James W. Poirot
    2000 - Ken Austin
    2001 - Jean Starker Roth
    2002 - Martin Kelley
    2003 - Keith McKennon
    2004 - Thomas C. "Burke" Hayes
    2005 - William “Frosty” Comer
    2006 - Bernie Newcomb
    2007 - Sam Wheeler
    2008 - Lee and Connie Kearney
    2009 - Patrick Stone
    2010 - Al Reser
    2011 - Bond and Barte Starker
    2012 - Duane McDougall
    2013 - Hal Schudel
    2014 - Rockne Freitas
    2015 - Sandy Campbell
    2016 - Jen-Hsun Huang
    2017 - Dick Fosbury
    2018 - Jim Coleman
    2019 - Tom Skoro
    2021 - Rick Spinrad