Joan Austin Honorary Alumni Award

Congratulations to the 2021 Joan Austin Honorary Alumni Award Recipient - Larry Roper

As one of the first Black administrators to reach high rank at OSU, Larry Roper was central to many early initiatives to make the university a welcoming place for all students. As he and others have observed, he worked to achieve diversity, equity and inclusion many years before it became common practice on college campuses. Meanwhile, he also became an important mentor to a broad cross-section of students who sought careers in the field of student services and is widely published and recognized as a national leader in the field.

View Larry Roper's memory book - signed by friends and family to recognize his achievements.

Donate to OSU Human Services Resource Center in Larry's honor.


Joan Austin Honorary Alumni Award Requirements

Established by the Oregon State University Alumni Association in 2005 and permanently renamed the Joan (“Jo-Anne”) Austin Honorary Alumni Award in 2014, this award recognizes those who have contributed greatly to OSU and the Alumni Association, yet have not received a degree from OSU. Like its first recipient and eventual namesake, these individuals have given so tirelessly of their time and resources to the university that it is obvious that they are Beavers at heart.

One of Oregon State's most beloved friends and supporters, Joan (“Jo-Anne”) Austin died June 5, 2013, in Newberg, Oregon, where she lived with her husband of nearly 60 years, Ken Austin, a 1954 alumnus. The Austins co-founded A-dec, the world's largest privately-owned dental equipment manufacturing company, and when they found themselves able to help meet critical needs in society, in their hometown, and at Ken's alma mater, they did so with great enthusiasm and generosity. Austin Hall, the new home of the OSU College of Business, bears their name.

Eligibility Considerations:

  1. Any non-alumni of Oregon State University
  2. Integrity of recipient must be of such high quality as to inspire others to emulate the standards Joan Austin represents
  3. In addition, please highlight how your nominees' service and accomplishments relates to one or more of the following areas:
    1. Supported and/or activated change within industry, local community and/or OSU community in respect to diversity, equity, inclusion and social justice
    2. Supported governmental and community advocacy efforts for Oregon State University, OSU Alumni Association and/or OSU Foundation's education efforts, research and programs
    3. Supported students and graduated with career advice and connections to alumni, donors and friends and/or providing their career expertise to university leadership, faculty and staff in order to guide outreach and educational efforts of the OSU community
    4. Supported engagement activities designed to cultivate stewardship and donations, and/or help to strengthen the OSU community

Those Ineligible for Nominations:

  1. A candidate or an elected official for any public office
  2. One currently serving as a member of the OSU Alumni Association Board of Directors or the OSU Foundation Board of Trustees
  3. Any Current Oregon State University or OSU Foundation employee


  1. Nominations for the award are encouraged from any source
  2. All nominations shall be kept confidential
  3. Please include the nomination form linked below
  4. Nominations may be made at any time. If a nominee is not selected the first year they are nominated their file will remain active for two years following their nomination

Nominations Need to Include the Following:

  1. Letter of nomination which includes college's reason for nominating individual
  2. Current resume or vitae
  3. Original nomination form, linked below

Past Award Recipients

2005 - Joan Austin
2006 - Jim Rudd
2007 - George Edmonston, Jr
2008 - Anita Simons Summers
2009 - Dean Frischknecht
2010 - Jacqueline "Jackie" Giustina and Mike Parker
2012 - Bob and Charlee Moore 
2013 - Mark McCambridge
2015 - Ken Johnson
2016 - Allyn C. Ford
2017 - Rebecca Camden
2018 - Ed Jennings
2019 - Jim Bernau
2021 - Larry Roper